Viktoria Fuchs

Rooted, wild, cosmopolitan

A fresh new wind blows through the Münstertal, as Viktoria Fuchs now reigns in the kitchen of the Spielweg restaurant. And the surly masters the creative-regional cuisine like no other. Her heartfelt excitement is infectious, Viktoria Fuchs lives and loves her profession – every day anew!

Stations:

  • 2008: Culinary apprenticeship at the  „Hirschen“ restaurant by Douce Steiner, Sulzburg
  • 2010: „Hirschen“ restaurant as Chef Gardemanger, Sulzburg
  • 2011: „Le Canard“ restaurant as Commis de Cuisine under Ali Güngörmüş, 
Hamburg
  • 2012: „Landhaus St. Urban“ restaurant as Chef Entremetier & Commis Saucier under Harald Rüssel, Naurath/ Wald
  • 2014: „Luce d’Oro“ restaurant as Demi Chef & Chef Gardemanger under Mario Paecke at Schloss Elmau
  • 2015: Romantik Hotel & Restaurant Spielweg Chef de Cuisine and owner, Münstertal
  • Since 2018: Membership of the Jeunes Restaurateurs Leading Chefs organization

Already in its sixth generation, it is now the turn of Viktoria Fuchs and her sister to run the Romantik Hotel & Restaurant Spielweg in the scenic Black Forest. As the daughter of a tradition-rich restaurateur family, cooking skills run in the family and, not surprisingly, Viktoria‘s interest in food is a passion she discovered at a very young age. As a little girl, she loved to spend time in the kitchen of the Spielweg restaurant, back then with her father still in charge of the stove. It was during those years that Viktoria decided that she wanted to continue the tradition her ancestors once started. And thus today, just a few years later, the young chef herself is the chef de cuisine in the very same house where she spent her childhood.

However, until Viktoria found her way back to the Black Forest, her career led her to various stations, beginning with the “Hirschen” restaurant in Sulzburg – where Viktoria completed her culinary training under the two-star awarded chef Douce Steiner – followed by culinary stops at Ali Güngörmüs‘ famous „Le Canard“ restaurant in Hamburg and the „Luce d’Oro“ restaurant at Schloss Elmau. These experiences did not only enrich Viktoria‘s deep understanding of regional ingredients and her culinary point of view, but also led to Viktoria developing her very own cooking style.

Today, back in the family business, Viktoria can draw from plentiful resources: Having acquired lots of experience, plus, having a wealth of fresh ingredients right in front of her restaurant‘s doors, she leads the kitchen with heartfelt ease that is second to none. While Viktoria remains true to her roots – with the Black Forest serving as a rich source of regional delicacies – Victoria also likes to playfully insert cosmopolitan twists to her cuisine. Her passion is wild game, to which she likes to add Far Eastern ingredients, thus, achieving unexpected culinary delights. Viktoria always makes sure to sort seasonal produce from regional suppliers (predominantly from the Southern Black Forest Nature Park), that are sustainable and processed as a whole. Be it home-made meat and sausage products from her father’s own hunt, baked goods or products from the Spielweg‘s very own artisanal cheese factory – Viktoria Fuchs knows how to combine local products with tasty influences of the Asian and Oriental cuisine. Viktoria herself calls her kitchen a “hodgepodge” – unmistakably rooted, wild and cosmopolitan.

Viktoria Fuchs

Verwurzelt, wild, kosmopolitisch

Es weht ein frischer Wind im Münstertal: Als Küchenchefin im Restaurant Spielweg im Schwarzwald hat Viktoria Fuchs den Kochlöffel fest in der Hand. Das, was man kreative Regionalküche nennt, verkörpert die junge Köchin wie keine zweite. Ihre herzliche Fröhlichkeit steckt an – Viktoria Fuchs ist eine, die ihren Beruf jeden Tag aufs Neue liebt.

Stationen:

  • 2008: Kochlehre im Restaurant „Hirschen“ bei Douce Steiner, Sulzburg
  • 2010: Restaurant „Hirschen“ (Chef Gardemanger), Sulzburg
  • 2011: Restaurant „Le Canard“ (Commis de Cuisine) bei Ali Güngörmüş, 
Hamburg
  • 2012: Restaurant „Landhaus St. Urban“ (Chef Entremetier & Commis Saucier) bei Harald Rüssel, Naurath/ Wald
  • 2014: Restaurant „Luce d’Oro“ (Demi Chef & Chef Gardemanger) bei Mario Paecke auf Schloss Elmau
  • 2015: Romantik Hotel & Restaurant Spielweg (Chefköchin und Inhaberin), Münstertal
  • Seit 2018: Mitgliedschaft bei den Jeunes Restaurateurs

Bereits in der sechsten Generation führt Viktoria Fuchs zusammen mit ihrer Schwester das Romantik Hotel & Restaurant Spielweg im Schwarzwald. Als Tochter einer traditionsreichen Gastgeberfamilie ist ihr das Kochhandwerk in die Wiege gelegt, das Interesse für Lebensmittel eine früh entdeckte Passion. Als kleines Mädchen schon verbringt sie viel Zeit in der Küche des Restaurant Spielweg, damals steht ihr Vater noch am Herd. Von Anfang an ist klar: Sie möchte das weiterführen, was ihre Vorfahren einst begonnen hatten. Heute, nur wenige Jahre später, ist die junge Köchin selbst Küchenchefin in dem Haus, in dem sie ihre Kindheit verbracht hat.

Bis sie jedoch ihren Weg zurück in den Schwarzwald findet, führt sie ihr Werdegang zuerst nach Sulzburg in das Restaurant “Hirschen”, wo sie bei Zwei-Sterne-Köchin Douce Steiner ihre Kochlehre absolviert. Weitere kulinarische Wanderjahre, unter anderem mit Stationen im Restaurant “Le Canard” bei Ali Güngörmüş in Hamburg und anschließend im „Luce d’Oro“ auf Schloss Elmau, bilden die Basis ihres Verständnisses zu regionalen Lebensmitteln und formen ihre Sichtweise auf das Kochen, aus der sie ihren ganz eigenen Kochstil herauskristallisiert.

Dann, wieder zurück im Familienbetrieb, kann sie aus dem Vollen schöpfen: Mit viel Erfahrung im Gepäck und einer Fülle an Zutaten vor den Restauranttüren führt sie die Küchenregie im Spielweg mit einer herzlichen Leichtigkeit, die ihresgleichen sucht. Sie bleibt ihren Wurzeln treu, der Schwarzwald dient als reiche Quelle ihrer regionalen und dabei doch weltoffen-kreativen Küche. Ihre große Leidenschaft gilt Wildgerichten, denen sie mit fernöstlichen Zutaten einen ganz besonderen, kosmopolitischen Twist verleiht. Sie setzt auf regionale Zulieferer, saisonale Produkte, die nachhaltig und vollständig verarbeitet werden – allesamt vorwiegend aus dem Naturpark Südschwarzwald. Seien es hausgemachte Fleisch- und Wurstwaren aus eigener Jagd des Vaters, der Brotbackstube oder Produkte aus der eigenen Käserei – Viktoria Fuchs weiß es, heimische Produkte mit Geschmackskomponenten der asiatischen und orientalischen Küche zu vereinen. Sie selbst spricht dabei von einem «Mischmasch», der ihre Küche im Spielweg ausmacht. Eben unverkennbar verwurzelt, wild, kosmopolitisch.