René Frank

Rene Frank

Credits: White Kitchen Berlin

A young talent revolutionises the sweet kitchen

The craving for sweets has sent chef pâtissier René Frank through all the world. Fifteen years later he started his own project “CODA Dessert Bar” in Berlin – here, he spoils his guests with multi-course dessert menus and sets a new standard for the sweet art with his innovative creations.

Stations:

  • 2001: Chef Apprenticeship
  • 2006: Junior Chef Pâtissier at “Zirbelstube”, Stuttgart
  • 2007: Chocolaterie-Pâtisserie “Oriol Balaguer”, Barcelona
    Alain Ducasse Formation Paris
    Culinary Institute of America in New York und San Francisco
  • 2008: 3* Guide Michelin Restaurant “Akelarre”, San Sebastian (Spain)
    2* Guide Michelin Restaurant “Lampart’s”, Hägendorf (Switzerland)
  • 2009: 3* Guide Michelin Restaurant “Georges Blanc”, Vonnas (France)
  • 2010: several stops in 2* bis 3* Guide Michelin Restaurants in Japan
    3* Guide Michelin Restaurant “La Vie”, Osnabrück
  • since 2016: Founder and Chef de cuisine of the “CODA Dessert Bar”, Berlin

 

Awards:

  • 2005: Winner at the “WorldSkills” in Helsinki, Finland
  • 2013: “Pâtissier of the Year”, GaultMillau
  • 2016: “Pâtissier of the Year”, Schlemmer Atlas
    Rolling Pin Award for “Best Gastro Concept of the Year”

There was never any doubt that René Frank is exceptionally talented in the kitchen. During his training to become a chef, young René shows extraordinary skills at the stove: Only one year after completing the apprenticeship, his abilities are rewarded with gold at the “WorldSkills” in Helsinki. It takes two more years, great fascination and a dash of chance to lead him to the sweet cuisine. While working as junior chef pâtissier at the “Zirbelstube” in Stuttgart, René Frank discovers his “sweet tooth” and his enthusiasm for the sweet temptations of the whole world. At international schools in Paris, New York and San Francisco, he attends classes that are all about the craft of making chocolates and any kind of sugary arts. His path leads René Frank through michelin-starred kitchens in Spain, France and Switzerland and culminates in Japan, where he gains experience in the kitchens of several 2* to 3* star-restaurants. Returning to Germany, he started working in the 3* michelin-starred restaurant “La Vie” in Osnabrück – and after six years as chef pâtissier, he leaps into self-employment.

Shortly after opening up the “CODA Dessert Bar” in August 2016 in Berlin’s scene-district Neukölln, it is rewarded with the Rolling Pin Award for “Best Gastro Concept of the Year”. This evening concept makes the guests experience desserts on a different level by serving several courses in a dessert dinner menu and carefully synchronized drinks. “Pairing” is what this interplay between food and drink is called and it’s a novelty in the German gastronomy scene. The focus is clearly set on his sweet artworks, which are presented in an unusual way: In the midst of wilting nitrogen clouds and under chocolate spheres and exciting aromas from salty to smoky that unfold on the tongue. Whenever possible, regional ingredients are used and experiments are made with alternatives to conventional industrial sugar and dairy products. With just being in the dawn of his 30’s, René Frank can look back on an impressive career.

René Frank

Rene Frank

Fotocredits: White Kitchen Berlin

Ein Jungtalent revolutioniert die süße Küche

Die Lust auf Süßes hat Chef Pâtissier René Frank durch die ganze Welt getrieben. Fünfzehn Jahre später machte er sich mit der “CODA Dessert Bar” in Berlin selbstständig – dort verwöhnt er seine Gäste mit mehrgängigen Dessert-Menüs und setzt mit seinen innovativen Kreationen neue Maßstäbe für die süße Kunst.

Stationen:

  • 2001: Ausbildung zum Koch
  • 2006: Junior Chef Pâtissier in der “Zirbelstube”, Stuttgart
  • 2007: Chocolaterie-Pâtisserie “Oriol Balaguer”, Barcelona
    Alain Ducasse Formation Paris
    Culinary Institute of America in New York und San Francisco
  • 2008: 3* Guide Michelin Restaurant “Akelarre”, San Sebastian (Spanien)
    2* Guide Michelin Restaurant “Lampart’s”, Hägendorf (Schweiz)
  • 2009: 3* Guide Michelin Restaurant “Georges Blanc”, Vonnas (Frankreich)
  • 2010: mehrere Stopps in 2* bis 3* Guide Michelin Restaurants in Japan
    3* Guide Michelin Restaurant “La Vie”, Osnabrück
  • seit 2016: Gründer und Küchenchef der “CODA Dessert Bar”, Berlin

 

Auszeichnungen:

  • 2005: Gewinner der “World Skills Berufsmeisterschaft” in Helsinki
  • 2013: “Pâtissier des Jahres”, GaultMillau
  • 2016: “Pâtissier des Jahres”, Schlemmer Atlas
    Rolling Pin Award für “Bestes Gastrokonzept das Jahres”

Es bestand nie ein Zweifel daran, dass René Frank ein Ausnahmetalent in der Küche ist. Bereits in seiner klassischen Kochlehre beweist der gebürtige Allgäuer außergewöhnliche Fähigkeiten am Herd, die schon ein Jahr nach Abschluss der Ausbildung bei der “World Skills Berufsmeisterschaft” in Helsinki mit Gold prämiert werden. Faszination und eine gute Prise Zufall bringen ihn erst zwei Jahre später zur süßen Kulinarik: Mit der Anstellung als Junior Chef Pâtissier in der “Zirbelstube” in Stuttgart entdeckt René Frank seinen “süßen Zahn” – und seine Begeisterung für die süßen Versuchungen der ganzen Welt. An internationalen Schulen in Paris, New York und San Francisco belegt er Kurse rund um die Kunst der Pralinenherstellung bis zur Zuckerartistik. Sein Weg führt ihn durch die Sterne-Pâtisserie in Spanien, Frankreich und der Schweiz und gipfelt im Jahr 2010 in Japan, wo er sich in den Küchen mehrerer 2* bis 3* Sterne-Restaurants weiterbildet. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland arbeitet er sechs Jahre lang als Chef Pâtissier im mit 3* Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichneten Restaurant “La Vie” in Osnabrück, bevor er den Schritt in die Selbstständigkeit wagt.

 

Seit August 2016 startet René Frank mit der “CODA Dessert Bar” im angesagten Berliner Szene-Stadtteil Neukölln durch und wird bereits kurz nach der Eröffnung mit dem Rolling Pin Award für das “Beste Gastrokonzept des Jahres” ausgezeichnet. In diesem Abendkonzept erleben die Gäste Desserts auf einer anderen Ebene: Mit mehreren Gängen in einem Dessert Dinner Menü und fein abgestimmten Drinks dazu. “Pairing” nennt sich dieses Zusammenspiel zwischen Speise und Getränk und ist ein Novum in der deutschen Gastronomie-Szene. Im Mittelpunkt stehen definitiv seine kleinen Kunstwerke, ungewöhnlich präsentiert inmitten wabernder Stickstoffwolken und unter Schokoladensphären. Auf der Zunge entfalten sich spannende Aromen von salzig bis rauchig. Wo es möglich ist, kommen regionale Zutaten zum Einsatz und es wird mit Alternativen zu herkömmlichem Industriezucker und Kuhmilchprodukten experimentiert. Mit gerade mal Anfang 30 kann René Frank damit bereits auf eine beeindruckende Karriere zurückblicken.