Jens Rittmeyer

Jens Rittmeyer

Foto by Picture-Time.de

A Michelin talent for brilliant sauces

His healthy ambition drives Jens Rittmeyer from the Atlantic coast to Sylt and now to the banks of the Elbe: Due to his ingenious yet simple cuisine and premium sauces, gourmets from allover come to Buxtehude to taste Jens Rittmeyer’s cookery.

Stations:

  • 1991: Chef Apprenticeship at „Hotel Burg Windeck“, Buehl (Baden)
  • 1992: Chef Apprenticeship at „Allee-Hotel Baeren“, Baden-Baden
  • 1995: Restaurant „Stahlbad“, Baden-Baden
  • 1996: “Hotel im Wasserturm”, Cologne
  • 1999: “Victorian” (Guenter Scherrer), Dusseldorf
  • 2001: “Schloßhotel Lerbach” (Dieter Mueller), Bergisch Gladbach
  • 2002: Sous Chef at “Vila Joya”, Albufeira (Portugal)
  • 2003: Chef de Cuisine at “São Gabriel”, Almancil (Portugal)
  • 2010: Chef de Cuisine at “KAI3”, Hoernum / Sylt
  • since 2017: Chef de Cuisine at “Seabreeze” and “N°4°, Buxtehude

 

Awards:

  • 2003 – 2009: One * Guide Michelin (“São Gabriel”)
  • 2001 – 2016: One * Guide Michelin („KAI3“)
  • 2013: 17 points by GaultMillau
  • 2016: “Chef of the Year” by “Der Feinschmecker”
  • 2017: One * Guide Michelin („No°4“)

In the same year as Jens Rittmeyer graduates from school, the Berlin Wall comes to its fall – the starting signal for his career as a chef. Plagued by wanderlust, he moved from Halle (Saale) to Baden-Baden to become a cook. Afterwards, his journey continues to the Rhineland, where he works in the tough places of award-winning cuisines. In the kitchen of Günter Scherrer he learns the most: This is where the way is paved for those who want to be someone in the world of top cuisines. The “Schloßhotel Lerbach” in Bergisch Gladbach is just as valuable for his career. Under the direction of the three-star-rated chef Dieter Müller, Jens Rittmeyer discovers his passion for the elaborate preparation of sauces. After all, his thirst for adventure drives him even further: After a year as a sous-chef at the “Vila Joya” in Portugal, he becomes head chef at the “São Gabriel”; this is where he earns his first Michelin Star. For seven years, Jens Rittmeyer works in Portugal until he comes back to Germany eventually. After working in Berlin for a short while, he takes the position as a head chef of the restaurant “KAI3” on the north sea island of Sylt, where Michelin Guide rewards his cooking skills with another star.

 Another seven years later, Jens Rittmeyer is packing his bags again to move to Buxtehude and become kitchen chef in the restaurants of the “Navigare NSBhotel” in February 2017. While he is preparing traditional and authentic dishes in the restaurant “Seabreeze”, the top chef is being completely himself in the kitchen of “N°4”: This is where he thrills his well-travelled guests with his special nordic cuisine that focuses on fresh vegetables and sensational sauces. In the same year, the Michelin Guide rewards him for this with a star. The “N°4” is carrying its number of tables in its name: A maximum of 16 people can find a seat this exclusive place. As a special highlight, the dishes are being refined directly on the guests’ table. Every visit is a unique experience! Jens Rittmeyer’s creations are all characterized by his great enthusiasm for Northern Germany and Scandinavia. In order to guarantee the best possible product quality, the star chef has been working directly with farmers for years. His standards for product selection are very high as well as when it comes to working in a team with his kitchen staff: Every single person on the team is important; but he is never leaving the saucier spoon out of his hand. It is not for nothing that Jens Rittmeyer is called “master of sauces”! While in other kitchens they are often nothing but a small component, Jens Rittmeyer’s sauces take the starring role in every dish of his.

Jens Rittmeyer

Jens Rittmeyer

Foto by Picture-Time.de

Ein Michelin-Talent für meisterhafte Saucen

Sein gesunder Ehrgeiz treibt ihn vom Atlantik nach Sylt und jetzt an die Elbe: Mit seiner überaus raffinierten, aber schnörkellosen Küche und erstklassigen Saucen holt Jens Rittmeyer Feinschmecker nach Buxtehude.

Stationen:

  • 1991: Lehre zum Koch im „Hotel Burg Windeck“, Bühl (Baden)
  • 1992: Lehre zum Koch im “Allee-Hotel Bären”, Baden-Baden
  • 1995: Restaurant “Stahlbad”, Baden-Baden
  • 1996: “Hotel im Wasserturm”, Köln
  • 1999: “Victorian” (Günter Scherrer), Düsseldorf
  • 2001: “Schloßhotel Lerbach” (Dieter Müller), Bergisch Gladbach
  • 2002: Sous Chef im Restaurant “Vila Joya”, Albufeira (Portugal)
  • 2003: Chef de Cuisine im Restaurant “São Gabriel”, Almancil (Portugal)
  • 2010: Chef de Cuisine im Restaurant “KAI3”, Hörnum auf Sylt
  • seit 2017: Chef de Cuisine in den Restaurants “Seabreeze” und “N°4°, Buxtehude

 

Auszeichnungen:

  • 2003 – 2009: Ein * vom Guide Michelin (“São Gabriel”)
  • 2011: Ein * vom Guide Michelin (“KAI3”)
  • 2013: 17 Punkte im GaultMillau
  • 2016: Koch des Monats im Magazin “Der Feinschmecker”

Im gleichen Jahr als Jens Rittmeyer die Schule beendet, fällt die Mauer – und mit ihr der Startschuss für seine Karriere als Koch. Von Fernweh geplagt, zieht er von Halle an der Saale nach Baden Baden und absolviert dort seine Lehre zum Koch. Danach geht es direkt weiter ins Rheinland, mit Stationen, die es in sich haben: Bei Günter Scherrer in Düsseldorf erwartet ihn das harte Pflaster der Gourmetwelt. Eine Zeit, die Jens Rittmeyer sehr prägt, denn hier ebnet sich der Weg für diejenigen, die in der Spitzenküche etwas werden wollen. Nicht weniger wertvoll für seinen Werdegang ist das Schloßhotel Lerbach in Bergisch Gladbach. Dort kocht er unter der Leitung von Drei-Sternekoch Dieter Müller und entdeckt seine Passion für die aufwendige Zubereitung von Saucen. Schließlich treibt ihn die Abenteuerlust noch weiter in die Ferne: Nach Portugal, wo er nach einem Jahr als Sous-Chef im Restaurant “Vila Joya” bereits zum Küchenchef im “São Gabriel” wird und dem Restaurant einen Michelin-Stern verdient. Sieben Jahre lang arbeitet Jens Rittmeyer insgesamt in Portugal, bevor er nach einem Abstecher nach Berlin den Posten des Küchenchefs im Restaurant “KAI3” auf Sylt übernimmt. Dort wird er für sein Können mit einem weiteren Stern des Guide Michelin ausgezeichnet.

Weitere knapp sieben Jahre später packt er wieder die Koffer und ist seit Februar 2017 Küchenchef in den Restaurants des “Navigare NSBhotels”. Im Restaurant “Seabreeze” kocht er traditionelle und bodenständige Gerichte, im “N°4” ist der Spitzenkoch ganz er selbst: Hier begeistert er weitgereiste Gäste mit seiner ganz eigenen nordische Küche mit Fokus auf frischem Gemüse und sensationellen Saucen. Die Anzahl der Tische tragt das “N°4” im Namen: Maximal 16 Personen finden hier Platz und als besonderes Highlight werden die Speisen direkt vor den Augen der Gäste am Tisch verfeinert. Jeder Besuch ist ein absolutes Erlebnis! Seine Kreationen sind allesamt von seiner großen Begeisterung für Norddeutschland und die Region Skandinavien geprägt. Um stets bestmögliche Produktqualität zu garantieren arbeitet der Sternekoch seit Jahren direkt mit Landwirten zusammen. Seine Standards sind hoch, bei der Produktauswahl wie bei der Teamarbeit mit seiner Küchenmannschaft. Jeder im Team ist wichtig, nur den Saucenlöffel gibt der Küchenchef nie aus der Hand: Nicht umsonst nennt man ihn den “Meister der Saucen”! Während sie in anderen Küchen oft nur eine Komponente darstellen, sind die erstklassigen Saucen bei Jens Rittmeyer der absolute Star jedes Gerichts.