Erik Brockholz

Erik Brockholz

From Chef to Coffee Roasting Champion

In Hamburg, Erik Brockholz ran into the right harbour. Here, many coffee roasteries have a long tradition – and this highly talented roaster masters his craft like no other. Carrying out the pure bliss of a good cup of coffee became the mission of the “Kaffeeyoda” and silver award winner of the German Roasting Championship.

Stations:

  • 1990: Chef Apprenticeship at Freihaus Brenner Tegernsee
  • 2005: Roaster Training and Gastronomic Director at “Die Rösterei” Hamburg
  • 2008: Developer and Owner of CoffeeCube/Flavour Coffee
  • 2010: Barista Training at Café Gambrinus Neapel
  • 2012: Brand Ambassador and Roaster at Hanseatic Coffee Company Bremen/Hamburg
  • 2012: Coffee Profiler for Barista Club
  • 2016: Developer of Aromabar Kaffee (together with Aromabar Hamburg)
  • 2014: Founder of “Der Kaffeeyoda”, a series of seminars
  • 2015: Management at “Kaffeerösterei Burg” Hamburg

 

Awards:

  • 2016: 2nd Place at the German Roasting Championship
  • 2016 & 2017: Gold Medal for The Best Filter Coffee by The German Guild Of Roasters

There was a time when Erik, born in Magdeburg, didn’t care at all about the art of coffee. He wants to work in a kitchen and hence he completes a chef apprenticeship at Lake Tegernsee. His training is followed by several stations as a restaurant specialist and gastronomic director. But his real passion is still to be found: The call from a friend, a roaster from Hamburg, makes Erik wake up and smell the coffee. In 2005, watching his friend work at the steaming roasting drum, he is instantly on fire for the small black bean. From now on he devotes himself with great dedication to the art of coffee-roasting and -making.

After learning everything about coffee roasting in one of Hamburg’s renowned coffeehouses, “Die Rösterei”, he moves to the production management of the “Kaffeerösterei Burg” in 2015, a roastery with a decisive influence on him since his very beginning in coffee crafting. Since then, he keeps coming daily to operate the massive roasting drums of the long-established company. Its location in an ancient warehouse of the historical Speicherstadt Hamburg is more than appropriate considering that green coffee has been stored here since the 19th century. In 2016 his roasting skills are rewarded with the second place at the German Roasting Championship. The German Guild of Roasters awards his filter coffee in 2016 and 2017 with its gold medal.

Today, Erik is a brilliant coffee roaster, barista, coffee sommelier and coffee consultant. Coffee is like good wine – and to Erik, enjoyment and art of living at the same time. The art of roasting is his passion – you can taste it in every single cup. Starting with the thorough selection of beans up to the gentle roasting process ending with the ritual preparation, Erik does everything himself in loving handicraft. On request, he also creates individual roasting mixtures and brands for other labels, thus offering them an opportunity to stand out from the market. He also advises gastronomic businesses and companies on their coffee culture, helping them to choose everything from the perfect coffee bean to technical equipment. Since 2014 he spills the beans about coffee in a series of seminars, “Der Kaffeeyoda”: Participants learn everything about the origin of coffee, the taste differences of varieties and preparation techniques, latte-art or even roasting. By passing on his knowledge Erik gets closer to his goal every day: “For a better world of coffee out there!”!

Erik Brockholz

Erik Brockholz

Fotocredits: Hans Ripa

Vom Koch zum Kaffeeröstmeister

In Hamburg ist Erik Brockholz in den richtigen Hafen eingelaufen. Wo etliche Kaffeeröstereien auf eine lange Tradition zurückblicken, versteht der Röstmeister sein Handwerk wie kein Zweiter. Das Glück einer guten Tasse Kaffee in die Welt hinauszutragen, hat sich der “Kaffeeyoda” und Vizemeister der deutschen Röstmeisterschaften zur Mission gemacht.

Stationen:

  • 1990: Kochlehre im Freihaus Brenner am Tegernsee
  • 2005: Röster-Ausbildung und gastronomische Leitung in „Die Rösterei“ Hamburg
  • 2008: Entwickler und Inhaber von CoffeeCube/Flavour Coffee
  • 2010: Barista-Kurs im Café Gambrinus Neapel
  • 2011: Kaffeeröster HCH Hamburg
  • 2012: Markenbotschafter und Röster für Hanseatic Coffee Company Bremen/Hamburg
  • 2012: Profilgeber des Kaffeelabels Barista Club
  • 2014: Gründung der Seminarreihe “Der Kaffeeyoda“
  • 2015: Leitung der Kaffeerösterei Burg Hamburg
  • 2016: Entwickler der Aromabar Kaffee in Zusammenarbeit mit Aromabar Hamburg

 

Auszeichnungen:

  • 2016: 2. Platz der Deutschen Röstmeisterschaften der SCAE 2016
  • 2016 & 2017: Goldmedaille der Röstergilde für den besten Filterkaffee

Die Kunst hinter richtig gutem Kaffee interessierte Erik Brockholz früher nicht die Bohne. Eigentlich will der gebürtige Magdeburger in der Küche stehen und absolviert deshalb eine Kochlehre am Tegernsee. Auf die Ausbildung folgen einige Stationen als Restaurantfachmann und Gastronomischer Leiter. Doch seine wahre Passion soll er erst noch finden: Der Anruf eines Freundes, Röstmeister in Hamburg, bringt Erik 2005 in die Kaffeemetropole. Als er seinem Freund bei der Arbeit an der dampfenden Rösttrommel über die Schulter schaut, fängt Erik sofort Feuer für die kleine Bohne. Mit großer Hingabe widmet er sich seitdem dem Handwerk des Kaffeeröstens.

Nach seiner Rösterausbildung im Hamburger Caféhaus “Die Rösterei” wechselt er 2015 in die Leitung der Kaffeerösterei Burg, die ihn seit Beginn seiner Kaffeekarriere maßgeblich beeinflusst. Seitdem bedient er täglich die massiven Trommelröster des Traditionsunternehmen in den alten Lagerhallen der historischen Speicherstadt Hamburg, wo schon seit dem 19. Jahrhundert Rohkaffee-Importe gelagert werden. Im Jahr darauf wird Eriks Können bei den Deutschen Röstmeisterschaften mit dem Vizetitel belohnt. Die Deutsche Röstergilde prämiert seinen Filterkaffee 2016 wie 2017 mit der Goldmedaille.

Heute ist Erik Röstmeister, Barista, Kaffeesommelier und -berater. Kaffee ist wie guter Wein und für Erik Genuss und Lebensgefühl zugleich, das Rösthandwerk seine größte Leidenschaft – und das schmeckt man in jeder Tasse. Von der sorgfältigen Auswahl der Bohne über die behutsame Röstung bis hin zur rituellen Zubereitung macht Erik alles selbst in liebevoller Handarbeit. Auf Wunsch erstellt er auch ganz individuelle Röstmischungen und Marken für andere Labels und bietet ihnen damit die Möglichkeit, sich vom Markt abzuheben. Ferner berät er Gastronomiebetriebe und Unternehmen zu ihrer Kaffeekultur, von der richtigen Bohne bis zum technischen Equipment und gibt sein umfangreiches Wissen seit 2014 in der Seminarreihe “Der Kaffeeyoda” weiter. Dort lernen die Teilnehmer alles über die Herkunft von Kaffee, geschmackliche Unterschiede von Sorten und Zubereitung, Latte-Art oder sogar das Rösthandwerk. Mit der Weitergabe seines Know-hows kommt Erik seinem Ziel jeden Tag ein Stückchen näher: “Für eine bessere Kaffeewelt da draußen!”